'A Midsummer Night's Dream'




5th - 10th March 1984


Tony Walker

Tony Walker's 1984 production of 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' marked our 75th year with a true Shakespearean favourite.

Traditionally staged and using a set designed to evoke the magic and mystery of the classical setting this was a delightful show and a perfect way to celebrate our anniversary.

Along with an excellent cast of actors this production also featured many younger members of the company as the fairies and goblins who accompanied Oberon and Titania in the magical scenes.

All photographs taken by Tony Eycott.


Director - Tony Walker
Stage Director - Helen Walker
Lighting Design - John Grosvenor
Set Design - Andrew Pickering
Set Construction - James Dean, Jean Wood & Richard Hudson
Make-up - Enid Clarke
Props - Mary Willis, Ann Sharp & Jane Bennett
Sound - David Tinson
Book - Ruth Eycott
Front Of House Manager - Richard Carter
Incidental Music Composed By - Wanda Vacher
Dances Arranged By - Pauline Reader
Costumes - Barbara Martin, Jean Pickering, Joyce Dean & Beryl Russell
Cover Design - David Bennett Miller
Photographs - Pat Laurie & Tony Eycott
Souvenir Programme Design - Martin Pratt & Kim Feasey
Programme Compiled By - Ann Toy, Philip Beeson & Tony Jaggers
Foyer Exhibition - Pat Laurie & Peter Sellman
Business Manager - Tony Jaggers


Theseus - Mark Tennant
Hipployta - Jessica Clewes
Egeus - Hugh Price
Hermia - Kirsty Ramsbottom
Lysander - Martin Illston
Demetrius - Phillip Fry
Helena - Carolyn O'Brien
Philostrate - Bill Goodhead
Oberon - David Lazzari
Titania - Ann Toy
Puck - Philip Lowe
First Fairy - Claire Robey
Peter Quince - Alan Taylor
Nick Bottom - Robert Vacher
Francis Flute - Keith Walker
Tom Snout - Richard Bould
Snug - Philip Button
Robin Starveling - Tony Jaggers
Courtiers - Vida Ayres, Jewel Juden, Ulla Washuus, Peggie Williamson & James Dean
Fairies & Goblins - Mark Arnot, Paul Arnot, Sultan Mahmood Azam, Nicolas Cole, Sarah Cole, Katherine Cole, Amanda Eycott, Katherine Eycott, Caroline Jaggers, Elizabeth Johnson, Anne-Marie McAnulty, Anna Ramsbotton, Luke Ramsbottom, Olivia Ramsbottom, Caroline Reader, Helen Reader, James Roberts, Anjun Syed, Fiona Taylor & 'Sam'