'Julius Caesar' & 'The Merry Wives Of Windsor'


Grand Theatre


4th - 9th February 1929


A. G. Revill & C. B. Sherwin

George Revill & Charles Sherwin brought a huge cast of 58 performers to the Grand Theatre stage for our first ever production of 'Julius Caesar' in February 1929!

As was customary at the time two plays were performed during the week, each alternating with the other between the matinee and evening performance of the day.  On this occasion the other play was 'The Merry Wives Of Windsor', seeing its second appearance in the canon of  the British Empire Shakespeare Society (Derby Branch), as we were then known.

'The Merry Wives Of Windsor' also featured a very large cast, demonstrating the numbers to which membership of the society had grown in the years between the two World Wars.


Producers - Mr. A. G. Revill & Mr. C. B. Sherwin


Julius Caesar - Mr. F. H. Roe
Octavius Caesar - Mr. H. W. Ellis
Marcus Antonius - Mr. C. H. Kerswill
Aemilius Lepidus - Mr. E. J. Browne
Popilius Lena - Mr. G. R. Willis
1st Senator - Mr. J. Wakefield
2nd Senator - Mr. W. Slater
3rd Senator - Mr. J. F. Bryden
4th Senator - Mr. J. Harland
Marcus Brutus - Mr. A. G. Revill
Cassius - Mr. A. D. Smedley
Casca - Mr. E. D. Marsden
Cinna - Mr. D. G. Gilman
Trebonius - Mr. I. H. Mosley
Decius Brutus - Mr. H. W. Ellis
Metellus Cimber - Mr. E. R. Tucker
Flavius - Mr. E. J. Browne
Strato - Lt. Col. G. A. Lewis
Pindarus - Mr. E. R. Lilley
Soothsayer - Mr. A. E. Goodey
Lucius - Miss S. Davidson
1st Citizen - Mr. D. Campbell
2nd Citizen - Mr. G. F. Knighton
3rd Citizen - Mr. A. W. Bond
4th Citizen - Mr. J. Bottom
Calpurnia - Miss B. Keene.
Portia - Miss W. M. Cox
Citizens - Messrs. C. Ashton, J. Atkinson, E. Aulton, G. La C. Baudains, G. E. Bayliss, P. Bennett, J. R. Biggs, L. Browning, B. H. Coveney, H. W. Gregory, J. S. Hackforth, J. Cranage, A. Grimes, W. Hughes, W. Hartshorn, C. N. Hefford, V. J. Pullon, G. L. Johnson, E. V. Pratt, P. G. Tweddell, J. H. Munton, J. M. Sibbald, J. E. Williamson, W. A. Scott, V. R. Wiley & H. Walker
Soldiers - Dr. T. E. Ashdown Carr, Messrs. W. J. Aird, B. Aulton, T. S. Donovan, A. F. Fielding, J. W. Harris, G. C. Wells & J. R. White

Sir John Falstaff - Mr. D. Campbell
Fenton - Mr. E. R. Tucker
Shallow - Mr. F. H. Roe
Slender - Mr. E. D. Marsden
Ford - Mr. A. G. Revill
Page - Mr. A. E. Goodey
Sir Hugh Evans - Mr. G. F. Knighton
Doctor Caius - Mr. A. D. Smedley
Host Of The Garter Inn- Mr. G. R. Willis
Bardolph - Mr. G. La C. Baudains
Pistol - Mr. C. H. Kerswill
Nym - Mr. W. A. Scott
Robin - Miss S. Davidson
Simple - Mr. W. Hughes
Rugby - Mr. J. A. Taylor
John - Mr. J. Bottom
Robert - Mr. A. Grimes
1st Country Boy - Mr. A. J. Britnell
2nd Country Boy - Mr. B. C. Scott
Mistress Ford - Mrs. A. R. Laurie
Mistress Page - Mrs. A. G. Revill
Anne Page - Miss E. Whitehouse
Mistress Quickly - Mrs. G. F. Knighton
Fairy Children Of Windsor - Miss A. Andrews, Miss B. Ashmore, Miss C. Deudney, Miss M. Doughty, Miss M. Lander, Miss , Miss J. Laurie, Miss R. Laurie, Miss P. Laurie, Miss S. Mosedale, Miss D. M. Revill, Miss A. Russell, Miss P. Sibbald, Miss J. Yeomans & Miss P. Yeomans