'A Midsummer Night's Dream'


Temperance Hall & Ilkeston Grammar School


23rd - 26th February 1926


A. G. Revill & C. B. Sherwin

The February 1926 production of 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' was our first presentation of this ever-popular magical romantic comedy.

The show was complemented by a thirteen-strong orchestra performing Mendelsohhn's music for the play, written in the 19th century.

This was to be a production of firsts and lasts - as well as being the first production of 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' it was also the last time that we performed at the Temperance Hall in Derby, which had been our regular venue since 1920.  The play also went 'on tour', marking the first, and to date, only occasion when the British Empire Shakespeare Society (Derby Branch), as we were then known, performed at Ilkeston Grammar School.


Producers - Mr. A. G. Revill & Mr. C. B. Sherwin
Orchestra Direction - Mr. F. J. Bonas
Dance Arrangements & Fairy Training - Miss Hilda Stevens
Musical Direction - Mr. E. D. Marsden
Helpful Suggestions - Mr. Alexander Marsh


Theseus - Mr. A. E. Goodey
Egeus - Mr. F. H. Roe
Lysander - Mr. A. D. Smedley
Demetrius - Mr. C. H. Kerswill
Philostrate - Mr. J. T. C. Pendock
Quince - Mr. G. F. Knighton
Snug - Mr. D. M. Cargill
Bottom - Mr. D. Campbell
Flute - Mr. W. A. Scott
Snout - Mr. J. Bottom
Starveling - Mr. D. G. Gilman
Hippolyta - Miss Barbara Keene
Hermia - Mrs. A. R. Laurie
Helena - Miss Marion McMillan
Oberon - Miss W. M. Cox
Titania - Miss Joyce M. Robotham
Puck - Mr. E. D. Marsden
First Fairy - Mrs. G. F. Knighton
Second Fairy - Miss Clarice Newton
Third Fairy - Miss Constance Bonas
Fourth Fairy - Miss Joan Laurie
Fifth Fairy - Miss Peggy B. Daniel
Peaseblossom - Miss Adeline Andrews
Cobweb - Miss Molly Doughty
Moth - Miss Rona Laurie
Mustardseed - Miss Peggy Sibbald
Changeling Boy - Miss Diana M. Revill